Several Questions

Talk about anything PB2K related.
Post Reply
Pinball Wizard
member
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 5:35 pm
Location: In the arcade.

Several Questions

Post by Pinball Wizard » Fri Aug 13, 2010 4:12 pm

1) Is there anything special about the ArcadeVGA on PinballLife or could I get any ArcadeVGA for a Nucore setup? I can buy one of the older ones for $40 usually and trying to shave my costs as much as possible.

2) How badly do the minimum requirements need to be followed? i.e. Could I use a 2.2Ghz single core pc with it? Or is it tied to the 2 listed processors?

3) Can you suggest any alternate amplifiers?
The box said "Requires Windows 95 or better." So I installed LINUX!

Make it idiot-proof, and someone will make a better idiot

User avatar
Chuck
Site Admin
Posts: 1520
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 3:34 pm
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: Several Questions

Post by Chuck » Fri Aug 13, 2010 4:57 pm

1) There is an older version of the ArcadeVGA that has not been tested with Nucore. It should work but I can't guarantee it. Modern versions will work fine no matter where you get them.

2) You have to have a dual core processor. Nucore will not run on a single core. An AMD 4400 is the slowest processor I would use Nucore on. Anything faster is great.

3) Any amps will work. You will just need to splice into the existing wiring. I use a car amp on mine.

Pinball Wizard
member
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 5:35 pm
Location: In the arcade.

Re: Several Questions

Post by Pinball Wizard » Sat Aug 14, 2010 1:14 am

What kind of wattage is the original speaker system rated at? I don't want to blow the speakers if I do indeed buy this RFM. Thanks for all the answers to all my questions lately.
The box said "Requires Windows 95 or better." So I installed LINUX!

Make it idiot-proof, and someone will make a better idiot

User avatar
Chuck
Site Admin
Posts: 1520
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 3:34 pm
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: Several Questions

Post by Chuck » Sat Aug 14, 2010 8:46 pm

Pinball Wizard wrote:What kind of wattage is the original speaker system rated at? I don't want to blow the speakers if I do indeed buy this RFM. Thanks for all the answers to all my questions lately.
I believe it was 40 watts.

Pinball Wizard
member
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 5:35 pm
Location: In the arcade.

Re: Several Questions

Post by Pinball Wizard » Sun Aug 15, 2010 10:46 am

One final question, does it matter if the video card is supported by this? I might use use an LCD instead of ArcadeVGA for cost reduction, I can get an LCD for 60 buck usually.
The box said "Requires Windows 95 or better." So I installed LINUX!

Make it idiot-proof, and someone will make a better idiot

User avatar
Chuck
Site Admin
Posts: 1520
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 3:34 pm
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: Several Questions

Post by Chuck » Sun Aug 15, 2010 11:36 am

Pinball Wizard wrote:One final question, does it matter if the video card is supported by this? I might use use an LCD instead of ArcadeVGA for cost reduction, I can get an LCD for 60 buck usually.
I suggest going the LCD route. Nucore isn't video card specific. It will work with whatever Ubuntu 8.04LTS linux supports. This covers most video cards. New motherboards with integrated video work very well.

Pinball Wizard
member
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 5:35 pm
Location: In the arcade.

Re: Several Questions

Post by Pinball Wizard » Sun Aug 15, 2010 1:03 pm

Thanks Chuck, you've helped out a lot and I think I've got my pricing figured out on what to offer for a RFM that is dead. Thanks again.
The box said "Requires Windows 95 or better." So I installed LINUX!

Make it idiot-proof, and someone will make a better idiot

User avatar
Chuck
Site Admin
Posts: 1520
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 3:34 pm
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: Several Questions

Post by Chuck » Sun Aug 15, 2010 2:06 pm

Pinball Wizard wrote:Thanks Chuck, you've helped out a lot and I think I've got my pricing figured out on what to offer for a RFM that is dead. Thanks again.
My pleasure.

I'm going to move the topic to general since it's really not a support issue.

Post Reply