Poll - Technical Expertise

Talk about anything PB2K related.

What type of solution

Please make a complete solution. I'm not great with computers.
No votes
Please make a complete solution. I'm only ok with computers.
13%
Only sell the parts. I'm an expert in windows/linux and require no support.
35%
I'm not sure. I would like more details.
3%
Offer both and let users decide.
48%

Total votes: 60

Chuck
Site Admin

Poll - Technical Expertise

Post by Chuck »

Our solution will replace the entire PB2K computer with brand new parts. The question is would people rather purchase the complete solution from us (motherboard, ram, ps, etc) or only the hardware/software we make? If we sold just our parts we would specify a list of compatible parts but it would require that the user has more than average techniocal expertise. If we sell only the parts our support would be somewhat limited due to possibility of user error.
Last edited by Chuck on Wed Feb 13, 2008 12:24 pm, edited 2 times in total.
ChadTower
Veteran

Post by ChadTower »

Why offer only one type of package? You're going to get users on both sides of the fence. It also depends on cost. If the full meal package is $500, I'd rather build my own given that I am on the highly technical side. If the full meal is $200, though, I may just pay to get it done rather than spend limited free time building it myself.
nworker

Post by nworker »

I love the idea of putting it together myself and gaining the experience. That is why the call it a hobby :)
Chuck
Site Admin

Post by Chuck »

Good input, poll will be updated.

Honestly we would like to offer just the parts we make and let people build it themselves. But we think that the number of "computer experts" is small compared to novice users.
Kenbo
Veteran

Post by Kenbo »

I think you should sell complete drop-in boxes, diy kits, and parts/software.