nucore Future Pinball and/or Visual Pinball Support

Submit any ideas for the project here.
tanthony

nucore Future Pinball and/or Visual Pinball Support

Post by tanthony »

I'm just starting to learn about Future Pinball and Visual Pinball. Can't even run them on my current laptop unfortunately. However, I'm intrigued by the idea of being able to a swap out of the playfield on my Pinball 2000 with a large LCD --- just like you can swap out RFM and SWE1 playfields --- and using the nucore computer to use/play one or both of these programs on the platform. I've conceptually toyed with ideas (that I don't have the skills to implement) on how to leverage the 2nd screen and I wonder whether either of these programs would be capable or could be enhanced to support an active and dynamic 2nd screen (using the one already built into Pinball 2000) to create a 3D look and interactively similar to RFM/SWE1 but fully digital, of course.

Doesn't seem like it would be that hard to put the LCD playfield together. Just need the largest LCD that will fit and a frame for it that would slide into place like the SWE1 and RFM playfields. The rest would be on the nucore side of things to support it as a plug-n-play option/capability.

So... I throw this on the request list for some version in the future.
tanthony

Re: nucore Future Pinball and/or Visual Pinball Support

Post by tanthony »

Can't sleep.... so here's a tech idea.

I was thinking as part of my Nucore installation on Pinball 2000 that
if I installed a PC that could dual boot Windows and Linux... that I
could either boot to Linux/Nucore or Windows/Future Pinball. For
Future Pinball use, I could build a playfield platform to slide into
place with a Hanns.G HG281DPB 28" Widescreen LCD Monitor (or
something similar) on it that would serve as a digital "playfield" and
then use the monitor already installed in my RFM as the backglass/
display (reflected, of course, off the tinted glass). The 28"