Ubuntu and NIC

Support questions and answer and latest software.
ErikvS
member
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 3:14 pm

Ubuntu and NIC

Postby ErikvS » Tue Nov 02, 2010 4:43 pm

Hi,

I have an Asus P5KPL-AM EPU mainboard and when I use the ubuntu disk bundled with the base package my NIC is not working.
I have also downloaded ubuntu 8.04 for amd64 and running that cd the nic does work. However I was not able to get the nucore up and running.
Am I doing something wrong?

User avatar
Chuck
Site Admin
Posts: 1496
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 3:34 pm
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: Ubuntu and NIC

Postby Chuck » Tue Nov 02, 2010 4:56 pm

ErikvS wrote:Hi,

I have an Asus P5KPL-AM EPU mainboard and when I use the ubuntu disk bundled with the base package my NIC is not working.
I have also downloaded ubuntu 8.04 for amd64 and running that cd the nic does work. However I was not able to get the nucore up and running.
Am I doing something wrong?


There has been one other instance of a NIC not working with the base install.

viewtopic.php?f=18&t=941

Check and see if your ethernet adapter uses a realtek chip (probably.) If so, follow those instructions and you should be good. If it doesn't use a realtek chip check Ubuntu's forums for similar posts.

ErikvS
member
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 3:14 pm

Re: Ubuntu and NIC

Postby ErikvS » Wed Nov 03, 2010 1:46 am

I have an Atheros chip on my mainboard. So I probably need a different driver.
How can I see which driver is used by Ubuntu? So I can check with other disc I have to see what is used

User avatar
Chuck
Site Admin
Posts: 1496
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 3:34 pm
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: Ubuntu and NIC

Postby Chuck » Wed Nov 03, 2010 1:58 pm

ErikvS wrote:I have an Atheros chip on my mainboard. So I probably need a different driver.
How can I see which driver is used by Ubuntu? So I can check with other disc I have to see what is used


I Googled the info and came up with this:

http://lovinglinux.ubuntuforums.org/sho ... ?t=1346845

I also looked at other posts and it appears the ethernet driver for that adapter wasn't included on the 8.04 distro. Here links to drivers:

http://partner.atheros.com/Drivers.aspx
http://dir.filewatcher.com/d/Debian/arm ... .4166.html

You can try this also. Ubuntu uses Debian drivers.

ErikvS
member
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 3:14 pm

Re: Ubuntu and NIC

Postby ErikvS » Wed Nov 03, 2010 3:02 pm

I used the driver from the atheros website and it worked like a charm :)
Now installing the nucore software. Hopefully this works too
Update:
Installed the nucore software without issues.
One side note, after the cd ran it removed firefox so there is no way to connect to the internet.
I had the roms already downloaded and on USB stick so no issue there but it is a bit weird.
Is there also a way to chose playfield with the keyboard? As I have everything still in a test setting and the original equipment still in the pinball machine :)

User avatar
Chuck
Site Admin
Posts: 1496
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 3:34 pm
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: Ubuntu and NIC

Postby Chuck » Wed Nov 03, 2010 4:14 pm

ErikvS wrote:I used the driver from the atheros website and it worked like a charm :)
Now installing the nucore software. Hopefully this works too
Update:
Installed the nucore software without issues.
One side note, after the cd ran it removed firefox so there is no way to connect to the internet.
I had the roms already downloaded and on USB stick so no issue there but it is a bit weird.
Is there also a way to chose playfield with the keyboard? As I have everything still in a test setting and the original equipment still in the pinball machine :)


Good to hear it worked.

You can hard-set the game by going into our setup menu:

Open coin door
Press the two middle service buttons.
Select Game and choose which one.

ErikvS
member
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 3:14 pm

Re: Ubuntu and NIC

Postby ErikvS » Wed Nov 03, 2010 4:46 pm

Can it also be done via keyboard?
Have not hooked it up yet :)

User avatar
Chuck
Site Admin
Posts: 1496
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 3:34 pm
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: Ubuntu and NIC

Postby Chuck » Wed Nov 03, 2010 4:48 pm

ErikvS wrote:Can it also be done via keyboard?
Have not hooked it up yet :)


Unfortunately no ;-)

User avatar
Chuck
Site Admin
Posts: 1496
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 3:34 pm
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: Ubuntu and NIC

Postby Chuck » Wed Nov 03, 2010 4:57 pm

Actually though if you exit to the terminal (F1 I believe) login (root/nucore) then type:

cd /nucore/bin
./run nucore rfm_15 -fullscreen (or swe1_14 for star wars)

that will run it.

ErikvS
member
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 3:14 pm

Re: Ubuntu and NIC

Postby ErikvS » Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:23 am

thanks, that works great.
Next step will be mounting the mainboard in the current case.

I hope you guys release the 2.0 update soon. Cannot wait for the tournament mode :)


Return to “Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests