Will Nucore fix this RFM?

Support questions and answer and latest software.
precisionk
member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:55 pm

Will Nucore fix this RFM?

Postby precisionk » Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:06 pm

So I am looking at purchasing a RFM with some issues. I was planning on upgrading to Nucore if I purchased, the issue being will I need anything else beyond Nucore?

The issue at hand is the power turns on, the game does not start, some led's come up on the motherboard and thats it. Nothing else shows up. Having never worked on PB2K machines, would I need anything else to get this to a functioning capacity or will Nucore take care of it? A new power supply was put into it, but still nothing.


Any help would be appreciated!

User avatar
Chuck
Site Admin
Posts: 1498
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 3:34 pm
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: Will Nucore fix this RFM?

Postby Chuck » Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:07 pm

Nucore would get it working but there may be issues with the driver board. Since the computer wont work you really don't know what shape the driver board is in. We've had people buy dead pins, put nucore in and it works. Then we have people who do the same and find out the driver board was fried also and needs lots of work. Just something to keep in mind.

precisionk
member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:55 pm

Re: Will Nucore fix this RFM?

Postby precisionk » Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:23 pm

Chuck wrote:Nucore would get it working but there may be issues with the driver board. Since the computer wont work you really don't know what shape the driver board is in. We've had people buy dead pins, put nucore in and it works. Then we have people who do the same and find out the driver board was fried also and needs lots of work. Just something to keep in mind.


Hey Chuck,

Thanks for the quick reply. Assuming that the Nucore is in and doesn't fire up, is the drive board the only other thing that could cause it or in your expertise anything else that could? Know off hand how much a driver board would run? Just trying to piece all the potential costs together. :)

User avatar
Chuck
Site Admin
Posts: 1498
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 3:34 pm
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: Will Nucore fix this RFM?

Postby Chuck » Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:27 pm

precisionk wrote:
Chuck wrote:Nucore would get it working but there may be issues with the driver board. Since the computer wont work you really don't know what shape the driver board is in. We've had people buy dead pins, put nucore in and it works. Then we have people who do the same and find out the driver board was fried also and needs lots of work. Just something to keep in mind.


Hey Chuck,

Thanks for the quick reply. Assuming that the Nucore is in and doesn't fire up, is the drive board the only other thing that could cause it or in your expertise anything else that could? Know off hand how much a driver board would run? Just trying to piece all the potential costs together. :)


Nucore will start even if the driver board is broke. You just won't know if you'll have any issues until you get it started and run diags. The driver boards sell for about 300-400 depending on where you buy them. Repairing them is fairly easy. This guy does the best work IMO http://webpages.charter.net/coinopcauldron/Index.html and his pricing is very reasonable.


Return to “Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron