problem resetting of the game

Support questions and answer and latest software.
webbox
member
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 6:27 am

problem resetting of the game

Post by webbox » Thu Oct 29, 2009 9:40 am

I have Nucore and I have a problem of resetting the game why I have always resetting of the game?

User avatar
Chuck
Site Admin
Posts: 1546
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 3:34 pm
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: problem resetting of the game

Post by Chuck » Thu Oct 29, 2009 11:26 am

Please list what computer components you used. Resets are usually caused by the watchdog not being satisfied. This can be caused by a computer that doesn't meet the minimum specifications or a bad install.

webbox
member
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 6:27 am

Re: problem resetting of the game

Post by webbox » Thu Oct 29, 2009 12:21 pm

Chuck wrote:Please list what computer components you used. Resets are usually caused by the watchdog not being satisfied. This can be caused by a computer that doesn't meet the minimum specifications or a bad install.
I use

Motherboard-P5KPL-CM
One Physical Processor
Intel Pentium D 925 CPU 3.00GHz Maximum Capacity 4096 MBytes
FSB-800.0 MHz
L2 Cache 2 x 2048 KBytes
DDR2 (PC2-6400) 2GB RAM
IDE 80 GB hard disk

User avatar
Chuck
Site Admin
Posts: 1546
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 3:34 pm
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: problem resetting of the game

Post by Chuck » Thu Oct 29, 2009 12:46 pm

webbox wrote:
Chuck wrote:Please list what computer components you used. Resets are usually caused by the watchdog not being satisfied. This can be caused by a computer that doesn't meet the minimum specifications or a bad install.
I use

Motherboard-P5KPL-CM
One Physical Processor
Intel Pentium D 925 CPU 3.00GHz Maximum Capacity 4096 MBytes
FSB-800.0 MHz
L2 Cache 2 x 2048 KBytes
DDR2 (PC2-6400) 2GB RAM
IDE 80 GB hard disk
That should work. Please post your log files. To gt them take a usb thumbdrive and go into the nucore setup menu. Choose update, plug in the drive when it asks and that will copy the log files to the thumb drive. Zip them up and post here.

webbox
member
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 6:27 am

Re: problem resetting of the game

Post by webbox » Thu Oct 29, 2009 12:53 pm

the nucore setup menu. How do I perform this action, you can guide me?
Last edited by webbox on Thu Oct 29, 2009 1:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Chuck
Site Admin
Posts: 1546
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 3:34 pm
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: problem resetting of the game

Post by Chuck » Thu Oct 29, 2009 1:02 pm

Page 42 of the manual explains this procedure. When you run the update nucore will copy the log files back to the usb drive.

webbox
member
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 6:27 am

Re: problem resetting of the game

Post by webbox » Thu Oct 29, 2009 1:05 pm

Chuck wrote:Page 42 of the manual explains this procedure. When you run the update nucore will copy the log files back to the usb drive.
Thank you very much I will update soon

webbox
member
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 6:27 am

Re: problem resetting of the game

Post by webbox » Thu Oct 29, 2009 2:21 pm

this is the log file



**************************************************************************
Nucore - 1.00 -RELEASE BUILD Copyright Big Guys Pinball LLC 2009

EMU Version: 1.00 -RELEASE BUILD
Build Type : RELEASE
Build Date : Jul 25 2009 19:53:47

Game Name set to auto
Ticks Per Second = 2999848249

SDL_VIDEO: Using Software Surface
Pitch 1280 Depth 16 Width 640 Height 480
Using REAL Parallel Port @ 0x378

Auto detecting playfield.
Playfield:swe1_14
SDL_MIXER: Compiled with SDL_mixer version: 1.2.8
SDL_MIXER: Running with SDL_mixer version: 1.2.8

Setting global volume to 609f from last dcs saved value


Timer Freq = 100
RTC Freq set to 4096
Using RTC Timer

Nucore IPL
**************************************************************************
LAUNCHED PROCESS: SYS DRIVER
LAUNCHED PROCESS: LOAD RENDER
LAUNCHED PROCESS: LOAD RESOURCES
LAUNCHED PROCESS: USB QUEUE
Loading all ROM data...
Using Real Parallel Port
LAUNCHED PROCESS: KEY HANDLER
LAUNCHED PROCESS: SAMPLE HANDLER

Initialization complete!

Starting Emulation....
***RESET***

[50069] Star Wars Episode 1 - Version 1.5 -- ( Flash V1.5, Rom V0.40 )
**************************************************************************


Pin2000 Option ROM bootstrap loader - V3.5 - Tue Apr 27 11:03:41 199LAUNCHED PROCESS: MAIN RENDER-16BPP

[ VALIDATING UPDATE BOOT DATA
Boot data structure:
boot_data_timestamp: "Mon Sep 22 12:46:30 2003"
boot_data_checksum: 0xa3d45239
boot_data_version: 1.1
boot_data_size: 8192
im_sys0_size: 141141
im_sys0_checksum: 0x573ff1f0
system_version: 1.19
game_id: 50069
game_version: 1.5
game_reloc: 0x100000
game_code_size: 587264
game_code_checksum: 0xb93c14f6
symbols_size: 151552
symbols_checksum: 0xc4bc914d
im_mask0_size: 3145728
im_mask0_checksum: 0x47ba1d1
im_mask1_size: 4091032
im_mask1_checksum: 0xb82a646f
im_mask2_size: 4194304
im_mask2_checksum: 0x8415f28d
im_mask3_size: 4183299
im_mask3_checksum: 0xe41b27cd
magic_cookie: "13Dec96"
boot_state: 1
[ VALIDATING UPDATE SYS IMAGE
[ VALIDATING UPDATE GAME CODE
[ VALIDATING UPDATE SYMBOLS
[ STARTING UPDATE GAME CODE
XINA: V1.19 - Mon Sep 22 07:01:19 200
(C) Copyright 1997-1999 Williams Electronics Games, Inc
XINU: V
Symbol Table Information: update 14956 symbols @ 0x122cf55

Game(Williams - Episode I - 50069 - 1.5): Mon Sep 22 07:01:05 2003Type(PRODUCTION_BUILD, ALLOW_SCORE_CREDIT)[Friday, 29 October 1999, 2:01:35 pm]LAUNCHED PROCESS: NUCORE CONFIG
Cannot set new non-game mode: 2 from current non-game mode 2
LAUNCHED PROCESS: CONFIG
Second sample triggered in other than game mode
LAUNCHED PROCESS: NUCORE CONFIG
LAUNCHED PROCESS: CONFIG
Cannot set new non-game mode: 2 from current non-game mode 2
Second sample triggered in other than game mode
READING USB
USB SETUP AND WAITING
nothing found
Opened directory:../music
Total songs processed 0.

USB DONE AND CLOSING
READING USB
USB SETUP AND WAITING
device added: /media/usb0

User avatar
Chuck
Site Admin
Posts: 1546
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 3:34 pm
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: problem resetting of the game

Post by Chuck » Thu Oct 29, 2009 3:52 pm

There should have been many log files that it copied. I need to see a log file from when the machine reset. The log file will say the machine reset in the log file.

webbox
member
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 6:27 am

Re: problem resetting of the game

Post by webbox » Thu Oct 29, 2009 4:31 pm

this is all the logs file
Attachments
logs.zip
(93.59 KiB) Downloaded 326 times

User avatar
Chuck
Site Admin
Posts: 1546
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 3:34 pm
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: problem resetting of the game

Post by Chuck » Thu Oct 29, 2009 4:53 pm

Wow, it's crashing a whole lot. Most of the time right after bootup it seems. A few questions:

1) Do you have an original pinball 2000 computer and if so did the game run fine with it?
2) Did you buy new computer components for nucore or reuse an old system?

Here's something simple to try. Make sure the parallel cable is plugged into the computer well. Make sure the parallel connection in the head of the machine is good. Also make sure the parallel connection to the driver board (inside the pin) is good.

webbox
member
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 6:27 am

Re: problem resetting of the game

Post by webbox » Fri Oct 30, 2009 4:33 am

Chuck wrote:Wow, it's crashing a whole lot. Most of the time right after bootup it seems. A few questions:

1) Do you have an original pinball 2000 computer and if so did the game run fine with it?
2) Did you buy new computer components for nucore or reuse an old system?

Here's something simple to try. Make sure the parallel cable is plugged into the computer well. Make sure the parallel connection in the head of the machine is good. Also make sure the parallel connection to the driver board (inside the pin) is good.

I do not have the original computer pinball 2000 computer I use a new computer for nucore
I checked all the ports parallel everything looks ok
What should I do?
Please help me

User avatar
Chuck
Site Admin
Posts: 1546
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 3:34 pm
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: problem resetting of the game

Post by Chuck » Fri Oct 30, 2009 9:36 am

webbox,

If I understand you probably bought the machine with no computer and never played it before you installed nucore. One of our testers did this. Before he could make it work he had to repair a number of issues on the driver board. Here are the four main possible problems I can see (maybe a combination of problems):

1) Your driver board has problems. If you know anyone who has a pin2000 take your driver board to their machine and test it. There's a good chance one or more of the components needs to be replaced.

2) One of your parallel cables might be bad (possibly both.) One of our testers had a bad parallel cable and it caused weird problems.

3) Bad roms. Go into the williams diagnostics and run the rom test. It will go through each rom and make sure they are good. If they aren't you will just need to download the rom file again. This is probably not the issue but I did have this problem once myself.

4) One, or more, of your computer components is bad or the install isn't working properly. It looks like the install went well since nucore is running. To test the computer go into the nucore config menu and select game settings and change the game setting from auto to swe1. This will make star wars come up everytime. Disconnect your parallel cable and start the computer. Nucore will come up without being connected to the game. Once it comes up let it run overnight and see if you have any problems. I'm guessing you won't but we need to make sure.

Please try these and let me know what you find.

webbox
member
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 6:27 am

Re: problem resetting of the game

Post by webbox » Sat Oct 31, 2009 12:57 pm

hi Chuck

After I checked it all turned out to end the problem was the fan of the computer processor boot solved the problem :P now I have some questions for you
1)I'd be happy if you could recommend a suitable cooling to my processor of my computer Here are two links

http://www.zalman.com/eng/product/Produ ... sp?idx=308

http://www.zalman.com/eng/product/Produ ... sp?idx=277

Of the two fans I think it will help me ,you can choose one of them for me ? or you have a recommendation for fan recommended for me

2)Now I have another problem my machine's sound is to low and not from the speakers and the machine. seems to be operating system. how can I return to ubuntu To raise the sound?

Hope you can help me thanks

User avatar
Chuck
Site Admin
Posts: 1546
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 3:34 pm
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: problem resetting of the game

Post by Chuck » Sat Oct 31, 2009 1:30 pm

webbox wrote:hi Chuck

After I checked it all turned out to end the problem was the fan of the computer processor boot solved the problem :P now I have some questions for you
1)I'd be happy if you could recommend a suitable cooling to my processor of my computer Here are two links

http://www.zalman.com/eng/product/Produ ... sp?idx=308

http://www.zalman.com/eng/product/Produ ... sp?idx=277

Of the two fans I think it will help me ,you can choose one of them for me ? or you have a recommendation for fan recommended for me

2)Now I have another problem my machine's sound is to low and not from the speakers and the machine. seems to be operating system. how can I return to ubuntu To raise the sound?

Hope you can help me thanks
Great job!

Either one of the Zalman coolers is great if not overkill. We use standard coolers that come with the processors and they work fine.

The sound can be adjusted from the GDM (Gnome display manager)

Exit nucore by hitting the F1 key.

You will be asked to login:

name: root
pass: nucore

These will work if you followed the instructions exactly. After you are logged in type the following:

/etc/init.d/gdm start (press enter key)

This will start the gdm. login again and you will see the main window. In the upper right is the volume control. Click on it to bring up the audio adjustment panel and increase front volume and main volume slightly. Don't take them up all the way. 92% seems to work very well on both.

Post Reply